State Universities in Nigeria: “2018” Approved by the NUC


We have put in place, a complete list of State Universities in Nigeria, that are approved & released directly from the Nigeria University Commission (NUC). Why should even you trust a list that is not from the NUC? Accredited Universities are barely a few out of the many universities out there. It is advisable you search properly before dive into any academic fraud. Of course, you wouldn’t want that to happen right!

Useful link: LIst of Private Universities in Nigeria: “2018” Approved by the NUC

state universities in Nigeria
The Rivers State University (RSU) General Library, a very state-owned University managed by the Rivers State Government.

(NUC) What Has They in State Universities in Nigeria?

The word (NUC) stands for “Nigeria University Commission” it is the authority saddled by the Government to work with all Universities in Nigeria, to achieve full accreditation status by at least above an average of the academic programme standards. Proficiency in the use of ICT service delivery within the Nigerian University System is promoted.

List of State Universities in Nigeria that offers diverse Certificate, Diploma, undergrad and Postgraduate programmes. In Nigeria, the state government are also funders or related to the establishment of one in every of the general public universities.

See Also:

List of NUC Approved State Universities in Nigeria:

1 Abia State University, Uturu Prof. E. Uche Ikonne 1981
2 Adamawa State University Mubi Prof (Mrs) Kaletapwa Farauta 2002
3 Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Professor Igbekele Amos Ajibefun 1999
4 Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot Akpaden Professor Eno James Ibanga 2010
5 Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma Professor Ignatius A. Onimawo 1980
6 Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli Professor Fidelis Uzochukwu Okafor 2000
7 Bauchi State University, Gadau Prof. Ezzildin M. Abdulrahman 2011
8 Benue State University, Makurdi Professor Msugh Moses Kembe 1992
9 Yobe State University, Damaturu Professor Yakubu Muktar 2006
10 Cross River State University of Technology, Calabar Professor A. Owan Enoh 2004
11 Delta State University Abraka Professor Victor Peretomode 1992
12 Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki Professor Chigozie N Ogbu 2000
13 Ekiti State University Prof. Samuel Oye Bandele 1982
14 Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu Prof. Luke O Anike 1982
15 Gombe State University, Gombe Professor Ibrahim Musa Umar 2004
16 Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai Professor Muhammad N Maiturare 2005
17 Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Rumuolumeni Prof. Ozo-Mekuri Ndimele 2010
18 Imo State University, Owerri Prof. Mrs Victoria Obasi (Ag) 1992
19 Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa, Jigawa Prof. Abdullahi Yusuf Ribadu 2013
20 Kaduna State University, Kaduna Professor Muhammad Tanko 2004
21 Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil Professor IShehu A Musa 2000
22 Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero Prof. Bashar Ladan Aliero 2006
23 Kogi State University Anyigba Professor Mohammed Sanni Abdulkadir 1999
24 Kwara State University, Ilorin Professor A. Na-Allah 2009
25 Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso Prof. Adeniyi S Gbadegesin 1990
26 Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa Prof. Sunday R Ogunduyile 2008
27 River State University of Science and Technology Prof. Blessing Chimezie Didia 1979
28 Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye Prof Ganiyu Olatunji Olatunde 1982
29 Lagos State University, Ojo Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun 1983
30 Niger Delta University Yenagoa Prof. Samuel Gowon Edoumiekumo 2000
31 Nasarawa State University Keffi Prof. Muhammad Akaro Mainoma 2002
32 Plateau State University Bokkos Prof. Doknan Sheni 2005
33 Tai Solarin University of Education Ijebu Ode Prof. Oluyemisi Obilade 2005
34 Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina Prof. Idris Isa Funtua 2006
35 Osun State University Osogbo Prof Labode Popoola 2006
36 Taraba State University, Jalingo Prof. Vincent Ado Tenebe 2008
37 Sokoto State University Prof. Sani M Dangwaggo 2009
38 Yusuf Maitama Sule University Kano Prof. Mustapha Ahmad Isah 2012
39 Oyo State Technical University Ibadan Prof. Abayomi Salami 2012
40 Ondo State University of Medical Sciences Prof. Friday Okonofua 2015
41 Edo University Iyamo Prof. Emmanuel Aluyor (Ag) 2016
42 Eastern Palm University Ogboko, Imo State Prof. Dafe Otobo 2016
43 University of Africa Toru Orua, Bayelsa State 2016
44 Bornu State University, Maiduguri 2016
45 Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology Abeokuta 2017
46 Gombe State University of Science and Technology 2017
47 Zamfara State University 2018


Useful link: List Of Courses Offered In University of Medical Sciences / Phone Interview Tips: 10 “Great” Successful Job Interview / Courses Offered By EPU / Jamb Admission Status / University is Harder Than Ever to Choose / Courses Offered In University of Medical Sciences / Bayelsa State (UAT) Offered Courses / NDU Post UTME / Part Time and Postgraduate Form – Guideline For Registration / AAU Post-UTME/DE 2018

Summary: Most state universities in Nigeria ( that includes Polytechnics, Universities Agriculture and of Education). These universities receive a minimum of a part of their funding from the state. Also, several universities have substantial financial gain from tuition and charges, donations (such as philanthropists), and revenue from royalties.

If the article was fund interesting, don’t hesitate using our share button to inform – friends and relative via twitter, Google+ or Facebook.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here